Fruit and Bowl

Pottery, Poetry + Paintings + Some Photos

Painting #8 – in process and I’m Writing to You From Behind the Mirror

Leave a comment

First pass, then second Pass:

I’M WRITING TO YOU FROM BEHIND THE MIRROR

“I’m writing to you from behind the mirror.
I’ve come here out of fear that you will find
my flowers have gone and fallen to the ground….
And nothing is left for you—“

“Let’s say goodbye to loss, my pear,
And dress up in these clothes if only for a joke,
And taste this towering wedding cake.
Lately I’m not too concerned with the mirror;

its darkness is like the fear
that one might come to prepare for
when living with this kind of thing for all these years.
It’s alright to come out from behind the mirror:

Here are our broken blossoms and sticks,
The leaves may be brown but the stems can be fixed.”

 – Pia Marrella Cisternino                                    

Leave a Reply

